Ellen Mueller

Open Door XVIII at Rosalux

by Ellen Mueller on December 2, 2023, no comments

pink orange and green quilt with the words too big and pictures of garden chairs

Alanna Stapelton “Too Big (To Fit In)”

Join me for the reception of Open Door XVIII at Rosalux on Saturday, December 9, 2023 at 7-10pm. I juried this exhibition a few weeks ago (very difficult – there were hundreds of submissions from excellent artists!), and now it is on view. This was extra fun because I was once IN this exhibition (almost 10 years ago – 2015), so it’s a neat full-circle moment. Here is my statement on my selection process:

“ As an artist, it feels novel to be on the other side of the jurying process, rather than sending off applications into the void. I was guided by joyful subjectivity, influenced by my personal preferences, the scale of the gallery, current events, the weather, and other completely unpredictable factors. The only guideline I set for myself was that I must make all my selections within 24 hours, which I did. It was a pleasure to sort through all these submissions, and I look forward to hearing about what chance themes others see across the works once they are installed in the gallery.”

Come check out these 49 artworks (and maybe pick up a holiday treasure!). Gallery hours are 12-4 PM Saturday and Sunday and the gallery is located at 315 W 48th Street in Minneapolis.

The artists featured in Open Door XVIII are: Malini Basu, Amy Beeler, Cynthia Berger, Martin Brief, Anna Carlson, James Carothers, Nick Chatfield-Taylor, Girl Club Studio: Coco Murphy & Emily Clingan, Stephanie Colgan, Kathryn D’Elia, Vincent DeZutti, Duddley Diaz, Maggie Dimmick, Jacob Docksey, Wendy Fernstrum, Margot Finneran-Flyckt, Kyle Fokken, Ann Ginsburgh Hofkin, Bryan Gratz, Jenny Gray, Margi Grill, Aisha Imdad, Ethan Jones, Rashaun Kartak, John Kohring, May Ling Kopecky, Chuck Martens, Anna Lyle, Derek Meier, Mark Sarmel, David Morrison, Bill Nagel, Anna Orbovich, Abby Owen, Max Paulin, Karen Peters, Chris Rackley, Jeffrey Reimen, Phillip Robinson, Taylor E. Schumann, Amanda Smith, Jennifer Stano, Alanna Stapleton, Derek Toomes, Emma Ulen-Klees, Josh Winkler, Ivonne Yanez, Angie Zielinski & Jake Zirbes